Archery Release HELP

7mm-08

WKR
Just for fun, try a high-quality tension release. I shot a wrist strap index finger release for many years and never thought I had target panic or form issues. I was bored and decided to read Bernie Pellerite's book, "Idiot Proof Archery, How to Shoot Like a Pro Step by Step (Even if You have a Real Job!)." The book is not in danger of winning a National Book Award, but you can find some fantastic nuggets of information in it. What I can say is that target archers can teach hunting archers a whole lot - especially shot sequence and the basics of consistently executing a surprise shot. I started shooting a Carter Evolution and the first time I let an arrow go, it scared the crap out of me. After I took the time to mess with it a little and understand its theory, I never looked back and I have hunted successfully with it for the last ten years.

I, too, endorse the advice to get a lot of different releases and find what is right for you. I went down a rabbit hole that I never (really) knew existed, to my tremendous benefit. Hope it goes well for you, but this could be a multi-year endeavor.

I shot a wrist release for a couple of years when I first started with compound. I had bad target panic and I didn't even know it. When I picked up compound again in December last year I briefly shot the wrist release and decided I needed to try some other releases to help me out mentally. This is also coming from a trad background so the idea of shooting under increasing tension/expansion is in my head but it's easier to execute with some handheld releases.

Been shooting hinges lately and haven't looked back, but I do have a thumb button on the way, and I also have a Stan resistance release here. Thumb button is for my wife to try and the Stan is for me to keep reminding myself the proper way to execute the shot.