Building a Shop

WKR

WKR
I want some advice from guys that have been through the process of building your own shop.

I'm a Concrete contractor so that whole aspect of the build I've got under control.

I'm curious if buying one of those metal prefab's is the ticket or if I should wood frame the whole thing myself....any cost differences?

Also I'm thinking 40×40...its a 20 acre lot so I have plenty room. Is that too small? Does anyone regret doing a 40 and wish they went 60?

Team4LongGun

SUPER MODERATOR
Staff member
Just went down this road, my conclusion is that if you plan to insulate or finish the inside, go stick built. Something else to think about, if you frame it, add second floor for down the road finished space. Material cost to double your sq ft is minimal at that point.

Price for metal kit is cheaper if you are doing the labor. I'd go 40x60.

JasonT

Lil-Rokslider
Never seems like there's enough room so bigger is always better. I went 60' so I could have my trailer/duck boat hooked up to truck and parked inside.

Reactions: WKR
OP
WKR

WKR

WKR
40x60 sounds good and its only around 9k in concrete. I'm not sure what materials cost for a wood frame would be for that though.

KurtR

WKR
No has ever said I wish I have a smaller shop. I would stick frame if you plan on finishing it

cnelk

WKR
As far as building type, it kinda depends on what you want for exterior siding/roof.

If you want sheet metal, then a post & beam structure would work. If you want a siding to match your house, a stick built would be better.

OP
WKR

WKR

WKR
I prefer wood frame if the cost doesn't get astronomical

Another vote for bigger is better- my garage is 30x40 and twice as big wouldn’t be too big, in fact I’m sure I would have it completely full right now.

OP
WKR

WKR

WKR