Colorado Elk 4th Season Rifle

WilliamWS

FNG
Hi All,
I usually put in for 1st rifle tags, but I knew going in that this year I wouldn't be able to do 1st season due to work obligations...so I didn't put in at all. I'm regretting that decision now and am looking at 4th season leftover tags.
I'm just looking for a cow to fill the freezer. Does anyone have any suggestion regarding units for 4th season? I see there are still 4th season tags in units 6, 16, and 17. Would there be decent opportunity to get into some cows in late November in those units?

Also, I've only been hunting elk for 5 years and have only hunted 1st season in the Routt National Forest, mostly units 4 and 441, hiking in several miles and camping solo. So, I have no experience with a later season hunt. I've been doing some reading, but if anyone has any tips for late season, they'd be much appreciated.

Thanks,
William

Ucsdryder

WKR
I won’t comment on units or tactics but I’ll just say be careful. Most of the time you’ll have temps below 0 and big storms with significant snow accumulation is always a possibility.

I know a guy who is very successful in Northern Colorado during the 4rh season.

He told me to stay mobile and don’t get far from your truck. He’s a killer that knows how to play the game .

tracker12

WKR
You might want to look at a cow landowner tag for unit 301. If they get weather those ranches have pretty high success.

dusky

FNG
Look for the best food patches at or near snow line, with private land or
thick timber nearby.

Jaquomo

WKR
Look for the best food patches at or near snow line, with private land or
thick timber nearby.
Nope. Where he is considering hunting, it will all be snow in 4th season, and almost all of the elk will already be way down on the flats on winter range, often private land. But there is always a chance of catching some out in the public land sagebrush. There is a reason why so many late cow tags go unsold over there.