Grim Reaper Mechanicals

EdP

WKR
I started shooting a crossbow to extend my season/opportunities last deer season so I am a novice archery hunter. At the recommendation of the archery guy at my local sporting goods store I used Grim Reaper 3 blade mechanical broadheads, 1 1/2" blades, 100 gr. 3 shots were taken from about 40 yds and 3 deer killed. All shots resulted in a complete pass thru. The Grim Reapers were accurate and deadly. My concern is that none of the deer left a blood trail. All the shots were heart/lung area and there was blood at the recovery site 50 - 70 yds away, but no trail at all to track. Is this typical of crossbow kills, a Grim Reaper issue, something else? Is another broadhead design more likely to result in a blood trail?

WoodBow

WKR
It just happens some times. If you got a pass through with a 3 blade mechanical, that's best case scenario. I believe grim reaper are a front deploying head. Meaning they don't open until through the skin usually. So that means a very small entry hole. That can certainly limit blood on the ground. You might try a rear deploying head or a small fixed blade. Even small heads like slick tricks and iron wills can leave great blood trails.

MattB

WKR
Blood trails vary considerably and are mostly based on the specific structures hit. There is a loose correlation between the cutting diameter and blade # and blood trail, so if anything you might look at a wider cut Grim Reaper. I certainly wouldn't go smaller cutting diameter/fewer blades or fixed hoping for more blood on the ground.

Another thing that can affect the quality of the blood trail is animal reaction. My opinion is that openers do tend to cause more reaction than a more efficient design, so the animals often run harder which can make the blood trail more sparse.

Were the shots from a blind or ground level?

Cavity will need to fill before it really starts to pump blood out.