Lower back hurts

Wireman07

WKR
I haven't carried alot of weight in my pack for the last few years. I started training last week for Alaska hunt next year. I have a 60 lb bag of sakrete strapped on about as high up as I can strap it. I've done 4 miles in 4 days, and now my lower back is all jacked up. All the weight is off my shoulders like it should be and is transferring down to my hips. Everything is setup and adjusted accordingly. My lumbar pad is fairly soft, I'm curious if that's possibly the issue. Or maybe I just started off with a little too much weight. Anyone else have similar issues? TIA

A.hol1

Lil-Rokslider
Start with 20 lbs and do lots of hills and build from there. No point in messing up your back now and getting farther behind

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rob5589

WKR
You jumped right into 60lbs after a significant layoff. That's the issue. Rehab your back before strapping the pack on again before you do any serious damage. Yoga is great for the back. Tons of stuff on YT.

OP
Wireman07

Wireman07

WKR
You have a year . lighten up, then build to your desired weight

Sent from my SM-G781V

You jumped right into 60lbs after a significant layoff. That's the issue. Rehab your back before strapping the pack on again before you do any serious damage. Yoga is great for the back. Tons of stuff on
Thanks guys. I think I did over do it. Getting old sucks. I will seriously look into some yoga to help with my back.

Colby

Lil-Rokslider
I would suggest getting stronger as well. Once you get healed up from your current tweak you might want to check out starting strength. I know I used to get a lot more low back tweaks before I put in some dedicated work to get stronger.
I also find that I prefer a decent bit of the load on my shoulders, not all of it but I have adjusted packs to the point where it was too much on my hips. I think some of that is personal preference.

Marble

WKR
Maybe I missed it, but is it a good pack?