moose with a muzzleloader

wolfman

FNG
Newbie here. It looks like I drew a muzzleloader moose tag for CO! Can't believe it! Anyway I don't own a muzzleloader currently. I have been going to buy one for a few years but just didn't. Well now I need to buy one. So I was wondering what the folks here recommend? Also any advice on what combination of powder and bullets to use would be much appreciated too. Thanks in advance!

If you prefer to hunt with a rifle or bow, I have heard that Colorado will exchange a moose muzzleloader tag for a rifle or archery tag. I read about someone who did that a couple years ago. I am not sure if that is true or not. From what I have heard that is only applicable to moose tags, because the moose tags are allocated by weapon type as each person is drawn (for example if everyone put in for archery tags one year, all the moose tags would be in the archery season that year). You would have to call Colorado Division of Wildlife to confirm that. The weapon type applied for does not affect your draw odds for moose in Colorado.

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
You could have a hoot hunting moose with a muzzleloader and what a great memory you'll have if you get one that way.

Colorado requires full conical bullets (no sabots), 209 primers are OK, loose powder only. Definitely a 50 or a 54 cal. As this might be the only moose hunt, I'd probably lean toward a 50 caliber as it's more versatile for elk/deer later on.

I'd call Cecil at PRbullet.com (check his site out). He can give you a rifle recommendation and suggest bullets to match the twist (very very important!). 1 877 828 5535- tell him Robby sent you. He can be a little hard to catch in the shop, but is a very knowledgable muzz guy. Grouchy, ol' duffer, but very helpful.
Get started right away as muzzleloaders can be a project and take more time than rifles usually to get your load tuned. Get a gun shooting at 2"-3" at 100 and you'll be deadly on a big moose.