Need Advice: CO High Fence Meat Hunt - Cow Elk vs Buffalo?

KGP1603

FNG
Greetings everyone. I am new to the forum. I live in Denver and ate tag soup last elk season here in Colorado. I work in healthcare and had a lot less time in the woods than usual because of the high volumes from COVID (yay). As a result, I have a bad case of empty freezer syndrome.

I'd like to go on a meat hunt and because my schedule is so limited was considering doing something that I'd never been interested in the past: high fence hunting cow elk or bison. I acknowledge this topic is likely polarizing between high fence, private herds and the fact that shooting tamed bison isn't really hunting. I'd would appreciate the forum's insight into my situation however and would be grateful if those who don't like the topic simply refrain from commenting.

I have found 3 private ranches in CO with the potential to work with my dates.
High Fence Cow Elk (non-guaranteed) $3k for 3 days/4 nights with a guide.
High Fence Bison Heifer $3k for 2 days/1 night (essentially guaranteed)
High Fence Bison Heifer $3.5k for 3 days/2 nights including skinning, quartering and cooling (they mention it so I included it, not particularly worried about field dressing).
- There is another outfit that potentially has "mature" cow elk "guaranteed" for $3k, I am just not sure about date availability.

With the following priorities in mind, what would you suggest I do?
1. Meat - quality meat/price = value
2. Freezer Filling Odds (would do less fun hunt to ensure I have meat for the next year)
3. Hunting experience (if cow elk would likely do rifle, if bison likely bow given ease and lower risk of meat damage)

Thank you for your thoughts and insight.

11boo

WKR
I might just be doing a bison meat hunt myself, would the meat be better after they graze all summer vs hay fed all winter?

I think rifle for bison vs bow. Figure out where a neck shot would be an anchor shot.

OP
KGP1603

KGP1603

FNG