New fly fishing setup suggestions needed

zacattack

WKR
Looking to get a new fly rod and tell and it’s a bit overwhelming with all the options. Pretty much just trout fish and the occasional bass. Was planning on a 6 wt. Have a budget of roughly $500, and would like to spend more of the money on a rod than reel. Just looking for some suggestions on where to start.

If it helps I’ll be stepping up from a Cabelas white river setup that I’ve been using for about 5 years.

Jimss

WKR
I’ve broken several sages on salmon sized fish but they are always good with their lifetime guarantees. No problem with smaller trout breaking rods. I’d go with 5 wt for trout. Bass depends on the size

I’m switching to echo rods for salmon. They seem less prone to breakage and are cheaper price.

dtrkyman

WKR
So many options, I have heard a famous fly fisherman call a fly rod an over priced pointing device. They are really proud of some of them and the guys using them for the most part would do the same with a 100$ rod!

St Croix are fantastic with a great warranty.

Unless you plan on a lot of streamer fishing a 6wt is too heavy for trout, I rarely use more than a 4 weight anymore.

Bass generally are 7 weight or more so it is hard to get a rod for both, you can just use smaller flies when bass fishing.

CoStick

WKR
The key is to just never try the higher end rods. The lower end are great and technology has come a long way. That being said a $300 rod and a $1000 rod you can tell a difference. Both catch fish. You can look used as well. Sage has a good warranty even if purchasing used Washington fly fishing forum has a great classified section.

philos

Super Moderator
Staff member
I would consider Moonshine fly rods. They have a lifetime warranty and you could get 2 rods for $400.00 to have a dedicated trout rod and same for bass

5MilesBack

"DADDY"