Northern Idaho Spring Bear 2021

CodyE

FNG
I am planning a spring bear hunt to Northern Idaho this upcoming May/June following my college graduation. I’m new to hunting western big game but have chased white tails my whole life in the southeast. I know it is a whole different ball game out west but I’ve always had a passion for hunting and want to venture outside of what I’ve became accustomed to. That being said, I’m in the early stages of planning this trip and wanted to seek some advice from you old timers. I’ve had my eye on unit 1 in Idaho because of there being no baiting/hounds and wanted to do a spot and stalk. Seems like there won’t be much hunting pressure. Everything I’ve read seems like priest lake is a good starting point but I do not know how late in the season I will need to go to be able to access due to snow? And will I be able to get to areas where I can glass or is everything pretty much forested.

I’ll happily accept any advice! I just want to be prepared and do my research so I can set myself up for success and a safe trip. Thank you.

Kmarkwardt

Lil-Rokslider
It’ll depend a lot on how much snow we get, but I usually don’t start seeing bears until the latter part of may into mid June.

OP
C

CodyE

FNG
It’ll depend a lot on how much snow we get, but I usually don’t start seeing bears until the latter part of may into mid June.
I’ve got about two weeks to play with so I was thinking maybe the last week of may and first week of June. Could you speak on how accessible glassing locations are?

ttucci16

Lil-Rokslider
I've hunted just west of where you are talking in the Washington side of the Salmo Priest Wilderness. It's very thick and doesn't start to clear up until you get up towards the alpine. Tons of opportunity, and a brutal place to try out Western Spring bear hunting. Best of luck.

OP
C

CodyE

FNG