Perfect 280 AI barrel length?

Please no extremists! I know it will shoot from both an 18" and 30" barrel. I want to know what the "right" barrel length is for the caliber to maximize the chambering. Want to use as a carry gun.

Question #2 - Why 280 AI over 7mm Rem Mag?

Thank you! :)

Last edited:

SCHUNTER73

Lil-Rokslider
Most all of my research indicated 24-25” finished. I’m planning to run 162 gr ELD-X.

Warrior27

Lil-Rokslider
I’m no expert but I had one built with a 26” barrel. I wanted to maximize velocity but still be able to carry it around. I feel it’s just right for my needs. Having said that somewhere in the 24”-26” is perfect in my opinion.

Both cartridges are very good, you can’t go wrong with either. I chose the AI over the 7 mag for a little less recoil but still relatively close to the ballistics of the 7.

I have two 280AI. One is a Kimber Mtn Ascent that I shortened to a 22” barrel. The other is a custom in a 24” barrel. Both have a suppressor on them. If I had to chose one, it would be the 22” especially since I’m using a suppressor on almost everything. If I wasn’t using a suppressor, the 24” is the sweet spot for me. But to each their own. I chose the 280 over the 7 because I like the near identical ballistics with the decreased recoil. Mostly cause I’m a wimp.

axeforce6

WKR
What’s your target animal? I plan to build one with a 20-22” barrel. But I have magnum rifles to fill the gap for something more and smaller cartridges to make up the difference on the smaller side of things.

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Besides carrying, what do you expect to do with it? What is the biggest game and furthest distance?

tak

WKR
So for the perfomance and BC should I just be going with a 6.5?