Plumbing Apprentice?

Shadow14

WKR
I have been pushing a desk for 7 years now and am 27 with a wife and 2 kids and am having a midlife crisis of sorts. I had an opportunity to move to MT for another job but it looks like that will fall through. I have been talking about getting into a trade since I was 19 and never did it and am now almost 30 with responsibilities. I miss blue collar work and love the possibilities that a journeyman/master plumber can bring monetarily and job security wise. The ability to be my own boss one day and provide for my family on a single income and provide a steady job for other families in my community really interests me.

For those plumber’s out there that have gone through the process,

1. How hard is it to live on an apprentice income in this economy?
  2. Would you recommend apprenticeship for a commercial, residential, mechanical, or industrial plumber first?
  3. Would you recommend trying to get in with a union or finding a small non union shop?
  4. Am I too old to start an apprenticeship?

I am in Georgia FYI as I know pay and the requirements vary greatly by state.

Weldor

WKR
Call the Local and see what their requirements are. Commercial and residential are the most popular. Unless you live in a area with alot of heavy industry you will have to travel for mechanical and industrial. Fitters and Boilermakers. It's a good Trade for sure.

jags

FNG
This is for in Georgia or are you still intending to move to MT?

Your current desk job, is it in the construction industry area or what is your construction knowledge level? Plumbing?

OP
Shadow14

Shadow14

WKR
This is for in Georgia or are you still intending to move to MT?

Your current desk job, is it in the construction industry area or what is your construction knowledge level? Plumbing?

Sorry this is for Georgia.