Reloading 2.0 Guidance Requested

Long story short I tried reloading for 2-3 years about 5 years ago. Everything was self taught via YouTube, forums and Hornady reloading manual.

I was able to produce safe ammo that functioned but was never able to get consistent results (group size and velocity would vary more than I liked). I kept buying gadgets like Hornady comparator, different FL dies,etc while I chased my tail trying to get consistent results. So I sold all my reloading stuff and went back to Hornady ammo.

I am now getting the itch to get back into it but I want to keep my tools to a bare minimum (while still producing consistent long range ammo). I would like to start with my 6.5 creed hunting rifle that loves the 143 precision hunter factory ammo.

Am also looking for good resources on how to simplify my reloading process

Please recommend what basic tools you’d suggest (6.5 creed) and what SIMPLE reloading resources you’d recommend. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Finding a powder node using a good chronograph, knowing your jump to the lands, and a reliable powder scale are 90% of finding a good load. The rest of the fancy 10% can tighten up your groups but the 90% will show you whether something is going to shoot or not. Also depends on the rifle, some shoot some don’t.

Redding does are a solid set to use. Hornady comparator gauges are also good.

What rifle and scope combo are your shooting? Bullet you want to use? It’s a bit of a rabbit hole, but the more info you provide the more we can help.

Being 6.5 creed run h4350 powder, that’s the golden child in that round. I feel like you have to try and make one shoot bad 😂

CatManDo

FNG
What I started with was a full length neck bushing sizing die by Forster. Right now I have a .288 and .290 bushings that allow for the different brass thicknesses. With the Hornady brass I loaded yesterday, I used the .288 bushing. To finish the load I use a Wilson Seating Die. OAL is easy to replicate.