Scope for my Tikka in $500 range

Shortdraw

FNG
Need a little help and education on a new scope. Just bought a Tikka Stainless Lite in 7mm-08. Now for a scope. It's been quite a while since i bought a rifle scope and then you just got a 3x9 and called it good. Now there are a lot more brands and power ranges. For this caliber and a rifle that I expect to be toting in the mountains what do you recommend in the $500 range? I won't cry if a recommended scope is less than 500 but much over is pushing it. I planned to look at Vortex, Leopold, and Nikon at a minimum. The Vortex Viper HS in 2.5x10 has caught my eye. The reticle doesn't seem to be anything special. Nikons seem to have a drop compensator reticle. Is that worth it or a distraction in the field? Thanks for your ideas!

OP
S

Shortdraw

FNG
What's your maximum range for shooting?

Well, given it is a 7mm-08, I would guess 400 yds or so is the max responsible hunting range although I am new to the caliber. If I get quite comfortable with the rifle, maybe further. No 800+ shots unless it's at metal though!

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
if it's a Lite, I would keep it light and go with something light- I see a lot of guys put really heavy scopes on light rifles, never made a lot of sense :confused:

I looked pretty hard and Vortex has almost nothing in the light range, nice glass and lots of bells and whistles available, but nothing very light

Leupold has several nice, light scopes- VX3i in 2.5-8x36 or 3.5-10x40 would both be good choices

not familiar with Nikon's lineup

also check the classifieds- you can often get into a higher end scope with a slightly used scope (Swaro Z3 3-9 for just over $600 in there now :))

elkyinzer

WKR