Springfield Armory Waypoint 2020 Pre Review.

Mr. U.

FNG
New to the family, bought a 6.5PRC from Rokslider. The gun shoots lights out but I do have similar mag issues.

After a lot of cycling, 30 rounds down the tube, and some more cycling the action is still jumpy, rough, inconsistent. I believe this is a mag issue. I know for sure I cannot chamber this rifle within 200 yards of an animal without scaring it a mile away. The feed is so loud and then the spring "dioionioniongggs" for a few seconds after that, even with another round in the mag. It's ridiculous. Is everyone else's PRC with the metal mag like this? The cartridges are definitely scratched up as well.

On the FB page for waypoint it looks like Hawkins said they are talking to Springfield about their mag that is having issues as well as noted above.

Is there any alternative anywhere?

I'll go ahead and tell on myself as I am a novice and made a mistake when I got this gun. I thought the darn thing had the wrong barrel or something was wrong. The bolt was not smooth, cartridges where getting jammed, the feed with a mag was horrendous. The bullet seemed to be unusually tight and I grabbed a patch that was thicker than what I normally use to clean the barrel and it wouldn't go in. All these things together freaked me out and I told the seller and Springfield. After they made me feel comfortable about the barrel being ok I did go fire it and it shoots incredible. That being said, this action/feeding/mag issue is poor for a gun in this price range. It's really made me appreciate my Tikka.