Suggestions on Best Rig for CO's Elk Muzzleloader Season

JGBowman

Lil-Rokslider
Howdy,

I am looking for an inline muzzleloader I can use in CO for their September season. Not going to CO this year but I want to have something ready for the future.

I really like th CVAs, but I am open to whatever. Needs to have open sights but having the option for a scope would be useful.

Thanks in advance!

Jake

I dunno about "best" (I'm not a ML expert) but I'm happy with my CVA Optima. Carried it on one cow elk ML hunt but never got to fire it. I'll be taking it again this fall, Lord willing.

Not the lightest of rifles but unscoped it's light enough and shooting full bore 300 grainers over a stout charge, I don't want to shoot a lighter rifle. That thing with elk loads delivers the worst recoil of anything I shoot.

Back here in the deer woods, I've taken several whitetails with it, topped with a lightweight fixed 4x or 2-7x scope. I've had zero problems with my Optima. Got the BH 209 breech plug for it but it works equally well with either BH 209 or Triple Seven.

It does have one of the best triggers I have on any rifle. Muzzleloader or otherwise.

SteveCNJ

WKR
Classified Approved
I dunno about "best" (I'm not a ML expert) but I'm happy with my CVA Optima. Carried it on one cow elk ML hunt but never got to fire it. I'll be taking it again this fall, Lord willing.

Not the lightest of rifles but unscoped it's light enough and shooting full bore 300 grainers over a stout charge, I don't want to shoot a lighter rifle. That thing with elk loads delivers the worst recoil of anything I shoot.

Back here in the deer woods, I've taken several whitetails with it, topped with a lightweight fixed 4x or 2-7x scope. I've had zero problems with my Optima. Got the BH 209 breech plug for it but it works equally well with either BH 209 or Triple Seven.

It does have one of the best triggers I have on any rifle. Muzzleloader or otherwise.