Swarovski 12s vs 15s

I'm going to order a pair of Swaro binoculars Monday. I had my heart set on SLC 15s as I've been using a lesser pair of 15s for many years and it works great for my style of hunting.

However, I keep reading about how great EL 12s are and I'm curious as to whether the price is worth the premium over the 15s. Are the ELs that much better?

I've never used 12s of any kind so I don't know how I'd like the lower power but I'm a glass slut for sure . If the glass is a significant step up I'm leaning towards the 12s.

Trr15

WKR
I've been debating trying a set of 12x ELs myself. From what I gather, guys are using these as all around binos, chest carry and tripod mount. Most guys seem to reserve 15x for tripod use and generally carry lower power binos on their chest. Right now I've 8x, 10x and 15x. Thinking hard about consolidating two of the three and going w/12x. Curious to see the replies here.

DavePwns

WKR
If the "lesser" pair worked great then the SLC 15s will be awesome, personally I bought the EL 12s because they are small enough that they can be used on my chest for quick glances, if you are planning on only tripod use, the SLC will be perfect for you. The only thing you are gaining with the 12s is a bit more light, edge to edge fattening and wider field of view.

OP
W
If the glass in the ELs isn't a big step up I'll go with the 15s and not wonder if I'm lacking. I'm probably the only idiot that carries 15s as my only bino, chest carry for quick glances and tripod when it's time to get serious.

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
Shoot2HuntU
I had the 15 first an took them 50% of the time. I bought the 12s a couple of years later and took them 100% of the time. The 12s will do pretty much everything the 15s will do with a much better FOV, they are lighter and you can handhold them.

I still need a spotter for most hunts or scouting trips.

To answer your question, no the glass is not that much different.

OP
W