Thinking about hunting solo....

I've been planning an OTC archery elk hunt all year in Colorado but the people I've been hoping would join are not able to. I'm debating about going solo because I'm really going for the experience and to learn. The first time I went elk hunting was two years ago with some friends so I'm not that experienced. I'm sure a lot of yall do it on your own but I'm a little anxious when I think about it. Is this a bad idea or should I take the plunge? If I do go solo I probably won't stray too far from the road, less than 2-3 miles or so. Appreciate the responses, smart ass or not!

dylanvb

Lil-Rokslider
A lot of guys hunt solo on this forum and for similar reason's. I have been out scouting and shed hunting on my own and i would say just make sure you have some contingencies planned out for worst case, also make sure you have some sort of satellite messaging so you can get out if SHTF. I just picked up a garmin inreach mini 2 so the wife and I could communicate when im out there. Are you North or Southern Colorado?

A lot of guys hunt solo on this forum and for similar reason's. I have been out scouting and shed hunting on my own and i would say just make sure you have some contingencies planned out for worst case, also make sure you have some sort of satellite messaging so you can get out if SHTF. I just picked up a garmin inreach mini 2 so the wife and I could communicate when im out there. Are you North or Southern Colorado?
I was going to reply something similar, agree with what you wrote.

Do it. Like was mentioned, get a way to communicate for your piece of mind and your families. You will learn so much faster actually out there with boots on the ground. Enjoy fall in the mountains chasing elk whether you get one or not. There is no better way to learn it.

GSPHUNTER

WKR