Wall tent vs Alaknak/Similar tents

This coming year I'm thinking about grabbing another tent. Currently I have an Alaskan Guide 8 for a basecamp tent. So far its been working, however it would be nice to have a wood stove for drying out clothes and the ability to have heat through the night when it gets cold.

Not one to dump this kind of coin without doing research, I started looking into your conventional canvas wall tents as well as the alaknak/nylon style. One thing I really want is a sewn in floor. I feel like its going to do better at keeping out rodents/bugs... notice I said "I feel like"... I have no direct experience with these styles of tent so these are just mildly educated guesses. I also hear they're harder to set up/take down, as well as drying it after using it(I have no idea where I would do this) and cleaning it... the canvas route seems really daunting.

The Nylon tents also have their downfalls... seems like they don't hold heat as well, there are people complaining about condensation(maybe some of them are using propane heaters?), durability(although Im not hard on my gear), and their ability to handle snow. Now theres also the Instinct Outfitter dual-wall style as well and its all pretty daunting looking down that road as well...

I'm leaning toward nylon just for the ease of set up/take down and I could find a place to dry out that style of tent for a day or two. Are there any other nylon-stove compatible options I should be looking into? Am I on the right track as far as canvas being more upkeep/etc?

My budget is around $1k.

A canvas wall tent is the way I'd roll..... Floorless, because I want to live instead of cleaning house and sweeping floors the whole time. A carpet scrap to stand on while dressing is all a guy needs. And no taking wet/muddy boots off outside, or sweeping. A stove jack in a wall instead of roof, for tarping ease and no burn holes. Doors at both ends. Internal frame.

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member