Where would you go out East?

I'm a newbie to this site but it seems safe to say the majority of members are westerners and those who want to come out west to hunt. Fair enough. But for those western residents, if you were given the opportunity to go on any hunt (or fishing trip) you want east of the Mississippi, what would it be?

Myself, and partly because I grew up in New York, I think about going on a canoe-based deer hunt in the Adirondacks. Also a duck hunt on the shores of the St. Lawrence River (I think in Canada you can still hunt from a sink box?).

What would you do? Think of this as an opportunity to turn the tables on all those hunters from back east to cough up THEIR hunting spots!

NCSU_Lewis

Lil-Rokslider
If youre interested in sink boxes, you can still hunt red heads and other divers out of them on the coast in NC. Haven't done it, but know many who have and it seems like a ball. Limits aren't like those in Canada, but would be a fun hunt. Could also have a day or two hunting impoundments in the same area to get after pintails and teal.

elkyinzer

WKR
A lot of truly world class fishing opportunities around the great lakes. The hunting, I'm not sure there's much worth traveling from afar for that sort of person that only seeks out the best of the best. Not bad hunting but more of a local tradition than trying to impress. The Inches = dollars is taking hold around these parts. But I mostly appreciate what I have out my back door. We have mountains and room to roam.

Last edited:
There's great duck hunting in Maryland. Pennsylvania has an incredible amount of public land and has great deer all over the state. The new York Adirondack hunt is something very similar to what me and a friend were talking about doing. The deer up there are very low density though. Maine moose would be a good one to look into.

Mosby

WKR