Which headlamp do you recommend?

HoneyDew

WKR
I run the storm as my primary for everything (hunting, backpacking, camping) it is a great headlamp with a lock so it won’t turn on in your pack. I also keep a petzl zipka as a backup in my bino harness in case I takeoff without my pack or the storm dies. Also always have a streamlight micro stream ultra-compact in my pocket. It runs on a single AAA for 2 hrs and will clip to my ballcap in a pinch.

Last edited:
OP
S
Awesome, thanks for the advice! It's got a lock? Interesting. Seems like you've got a pretty dialed in setup. No experience with the SRI?

Hey guys, looking for a headlamp here. Thinking about the SRI headlamp or the Streamlight option. The SRI seems more powerful but price on the Streamlight helps.
https://hunterswholesale.net/blogs/news/best-headlamps-for-hunting

Well, from the link, I see that the Black Diamond Storm is top rated. I would agree. I have 3 of them. I have been running one for about 4 years now and with the 4 AAA batteries, it lasts about 6 months under normal usage with occasional high beam moments. It has been through snow and rain and never had any issues.

The one feature I like is the turbo light option, in which you just touch the side and you get full power. Perfect for those "what the eff is that over there in the dark" moments. Another feature is that you can use different colors, depending on your hunting needs. I find green works well when I am getting to my coyote stand, red for when I am hiking into the backcountry and know I am in ungulate territory.

So yeh, the Storm is highly recommended. Good luck.

TheCougar

WKR
Zebralight. They are expensive, but after using them, they are worth every penny. Bright, durable, long battery life. With the magnetic charger, the spare battery functions as a spare power pack to charge other devices, so it’s multi-functional.