are powerbelts any good for deer

jeffpenland123

Lil-Rokslider
i have a traditions nitrofire the bullets it recomends are all saboted bullets except for the fedral bor lock copper 270gr and traditions smackdown mzx aka hornady full bore 290gr ftx. and i am wondering if powerbelt are any good some people say the get poor blood trails some say they are awesome. i am looking at 50 cal. i have looked a the elr 50 cal the copperseries aerotip hollow point and tipped and the aerolite. wich are the best let me know

The standard ones are OK most of the time. They're nice and soft, and expand well. I shot a couple critters with them back when I first started MZ hunting and they worked well enough.
There's a lot of negative info about the newer Aero ones not expanding, but I have no experience with them.

blkqi

WKR
They seem to do fine as long as you don't push them too hard. They are essentially just a (plated) lead conical.

Are you trying to avoid saboted bullets for some reason?

I use the hornady .50 cal sabot .45cal bullet 250grn all coppers and i have watched every deer i shot with them drop.

OP
J

jeffpenland123

Lil-Rokslider
The standard ones are OK most of the time. They're nice and soft, and expand well. I shot a couple critters with them back when I first started MZ hunting and they worked well enough.
There's a lot of negative info about the newer Aero ones not expanding, but I have no experience with them.
thats what i hear about the aero lites and copperseries but you never know somebody may have shot a deer in the guts then said they suck and it be thier fault not the bullet fault.

OP
J

jeffpenland123

Lil-Rokslider
They seem to do fine as long as you don't push them too hard. They are essentially just a (plated) lead conical.

Are you trying to avoid saboted bullets for some reason?
no i am fine with them but i would like to try some full bore conicals.

FrontierGander

Lil-Rokslider
If you can't kill a deer with a powerbelt, you best call it quits 😂