base layer offerings

yukonC

Lil-Rokslider
First off, I’m a turkey hunter in the Midwest so I’m not climbing mountains but I have out 8-10 miles in a day before. I am looking for a base layer that is not in camo so that I can wear it beneath my flannel work shirts as well during the winter. I have been using my Army issued Gen III gear since I got them in 2006. Should I stick to polartec? There isn’t much foe offerings other than what the army gave me which is fine I guess I am just trying to see if there is something better. I have been eyeing the Patagonia capilene air crew to try but that is pricey. I have purchased one elite hunting brand product which is the Kuiu Traverse 1800 pack which is what I use when hunting. It’s great and I tend to stick with brands. I looked at their peloton 97 pants and top but they are unfortunately only offering camo right now. I hunt spring and fall in temps from high 30s to high 80s in the spring. I don’t think I need a different mid layer as I have the polartec waffle or my favorite piece of clothing is my nano puff. I would also like to use this base layer top for winter runs as well. Any help would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
yukonC

yukonC

Lil-Rokslider
What are the thoughts on smart wool 150?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AK Shane

Lil-Rokslider
I have some Capeline bottoms and hate them. They pull on my leg hair and make me itch. For non merino I like Odlo. In merino I have various pieces in Ibex, Black Ovis, Smartwool, Kuiu, Minus 33, and Icebreaker. All are pretty darn good. For price Black Ovis is hard to beat and has a good product.

slivver71

FNG
I'm a cheap bastard and have a ton of merino shirts and hoodies I've purchased used off ebay, poshmark, gear trade, and mercari. maybe look at these sites and see. i usually wear a merino ss or ls shirt w/ a fleece mid or outer layer, or a eVent shell (also used), depending on the weather.

Roeshaa

FNG