Cartridge for youth

In my opinion that’s marginal and not nearly enough margin thus my statement earlier.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Let‘s see what the OP has to say about likely shot distance. I have zero experience with hunting conditions in Florida, it might be that a long shot is 150 yards. In that case the RR factory stuff would be more than enough.

I still support the .223 option with 77 TMK or 75 ELDM.

P

Maki35

WKR
.243 has been around for a long time. It's a fine cartridge for a young man.
Some guys still hunt with .243. Nothing wrong with it.

Macintosh

WKR
From what I have seen the muzzle blast and concussion is at least half of the "recoil" that kids shy away from. Take away the muzzle blast and any gun is a lot nicer to shoot for anyone, even without changing recoil. For this reason I'd 1) avoid a brake at all costs, 2) get a suppressor if you can, and 3) go for the lightest-recoiling cartridge you have confidence in.

I've had excellent results with the hornady reduced recoil loads using the SST bullets in both 7mm08 and 30-06 on deer and antelope --all definitive bang/flops out to about 220 yards. I dont shy away from these at all and I would not hesitate to use them myself within the range limitation where they'll drop below expansion velocity. 200 yards is more than plenty for a kid anyway, at least for a while.