Laramie, WY

Anyone on here from Laramie area? Been toying with the idea of moving my family there. Any info on the community, housing, schools, work (I'm a carpenter), winters, etc would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

wysongdog

WKR
Good morning, Laramie is a great town. Ton of highly educated people due to the university. Seems to be always growing and building. The winters are brutal of course. Shopping really sucks especially you being a carpenter. No Home Depot no menards and the 2 lumber yards they have... well they are just there. Spent quite a bit of time there as my brothers went to school there.

I live in Jackson hole which is 6 hours away and I went to school in Laramie. It’s not a bad place other than the fact that it’s a college town. A lot of drinking/partying. Cold winters for sure! Windy when it wants to be windy.
Those are really the downfalls.
As for schools for younger kids I’m not sure because I did the college thing and maybe that’s why I have the outlook on the place like that.
I personally would never move there again but that is because I used to be an alcoholic- sober now so things could be way different.
If your family is very outdoorsy and family
Oriented there is a lot of camping, hills. Mountains (vedauwoo) which has amazing camping.
The positive to moving to Laramie is the sooner you do it the sooner you can get your Wyoming residency and after a year you can hunt in the Mecca of America!
I know that construction And carpentry is always busy there as I worked in the construction field when I was there.
Fort Collins CO is about an hour away and Denver is maybe 2 and I love both those places so that’s something to look forward too!!
I can’t bad talk the place because of my past so you could absolutely love it and half my high school still lives there after graduating in 06’ and heading there right away so clearly they’ve landed good jobs and like it!
Good luck amigo!