Need help to "true" my chart...or should I bother?

bdg848

WKR
Hello all,

I have set my maximum hunting distance as 600 yards based on my group size but I need help with a drop chart. I don't have a chronograph so I guessed a velocity for the sterlok app, shot at 300 and 600 with the suggested drop, and was intending to adjust velocity from there to get close adjustments at both distances. It was telling me 1.2 mil at 300 and 3.8 at 600. My actual results are 1.6 and 4.1 Mils. I cannot adjust the velocity and get it to give me a close number on one without throwing the other off significantly. To get 300 to match, the velocity must be 2500fps and that makes 600 yard drop 4.8 mils... .7 too much. To get 600 to match, I'm at 2675 fps and that makes 300yd 1.3 .3 too little drop.

I'm completely new to this (ballistics, not the fundamentals of marksmanship) so I'm not sure what to do next. I can just shoot off of my known drop but my hunting will be done about 4000 ft in elevation higher so I was really hoping to be able to simply adjust elevation in the app when I got there and then quickly confirm it. Now I won't know to even trust my known data with the elevation change....any advice?

*edit* After messing with the altitude, the app didn't change any of the data with an elevation difference from 500' to 4000'. When I set elevation to sea level it changed the data by about a tenth of an inch...So I guess at 600 yards I can ignore the elevation change?? Does that seem right?

Last edited:

Rob5589

WKR
The most accurate way is to shoot at the intended distance with the same environmentals. Of course that isn't usually possible. In that case I will use my base set up and enter it into an app (I use Applied Ballistics) at various elevations and temps. That should give a good baseline to work off. I generally don't worry about it too much about it unless I see a ~ 5k foot increase and/or significant temp changes.