Reloading bench ideas

171farm

Lil-Rokslider
I know there are a few posts where people are showing their reloading setups…rather than just those up with my questions I figured I’d ask on my own post.

Anyway, I’m new to reloading. A buddy of mine has been showing me the ropes on his equipment. I have my own coming and would like to start thinking about my setup. Here’s some questions I have….

-What size should I make the bench…anyone have any blueprints to share
-Should I use some of the in stock base cabinets lowes or homedepot has as the base
-Should I use some kind of metal legs or is wood sufficient
-What kind of top should I have? Plywood, 1 or 2 by, metal, laminate countertops, granite or something I haven’t even thought of

Any and all suggestions of anything would be great. Pics are a bonus. Anything I should avoid or definitely do?

Built my first couple, bought my latest one. The packing bench from ULINE is great.

HiMtnHntr

WKR
I like to stand so I built my bench about belly height [I want to say this is about 42"?]. I have a 2x4 brace affixed to the concrete floor under the press so it doesn't give while decapping or seating. My benchtop is just plywood I had laying around. If I was starting new I'd probably look at some 3/4" plywood and maybe even varnish it for easy sweeping.

11boo

WKR
Built my first couple, bought my latest one. The packing bench from ULINE is great.

Those make great benches. I put a couple angle brackets to hold it tight to the wall. Rock solid, whatever you do there should be no wobble.

If you can swing cabinets, that’s my vote. The. Either use laminate tops or even high end plywood. Here’s mine. I got cabinets for free from someone doing a kitchen remodel on a rental house. Then made my own tops from plywood since my layout was different. Then sealed it with lots of polyurethane. It was a really cheap way of getting a descent setup with lots of storage.

Attachments

• 3E913E93-2A4D-40B9-9D61-A9CC0EED332A.jpeg