Replacement triggers available for Ruger American Gen 2?

Mcfish

FNG
I just got a Ruger American Gen 2 and I'd like to switch out the trigger with an aftermarket. Does anyone know of anyone making one yet? Or if a replacement for a Gen 1 would work? TIA

robtattoo

WKR
I'm not a lawyer, but I seem to remember reading somewhere that it uses the same trigger as the Mk1
If so, I can highly recommend the Timney

OP
M

Mcfish

FNG

robtattoo

WKR
If you hate the accu-trigger blade then by all means replace the trigger. However, if it's just pulling too heavy, you can likely replace the trigger spring with a McArbo for about $20 shipped. Super easy install.

https://www.mcarbo.com/ruger-american-rifle-trigger-spring-kit.aspx

Only downside to the spring, if you have a trigger like mine was (long, heavy & gritty pull) all it changes is the weight.
The Timney is like a glass rod. No creep, hardly any over travel & a beautiful break.

In my experience, Ruger are pretty cool about answering questions over the phone. I'd definitely call & check cross compatability before spending Timney money.

WormSportsman

Lil-Rokslider
If you hate the accu-trigger blade then by all means replace the trigger. However, if it's just pulling too heavy, you can likely replace the trigger spring with a McArbo for about $20 shipped. Super easy install.

https://www.mcarbo.com/ruger-american-rifle-trigger-spring-kit.aspx
I just swapped out the springs on a 5.56 ranch rifle and 6.5 creed Predator. I was pretty impressed with the difference it made for a cheap and easy swap. Way better than the stock spring and made the trigger pull feel more crisp to me.

OP
M

Mcfish

FNG
Only downside to the spring, if you have a trigger like mine was (long, heavy & gritty pull) all it changes is the weight.
The Timney is like a glass rod. No creep, hardly any over travel & a beautiful break.