Sanity Check - 6.5c vs 6c

Ophidian

Lil-Rokslider
I decided to get a new rifle a few months ago and I have narrowed it down to two. Both of them come in 6.5 Creedmoor and 6 creedmoor.
100% of my rifle hunting is PA whitetail (shots are less than 500y) but Ive been building points for elk/pronghorn/mulies in several states for years.

I dont see the need to go to a short mag like the 6.5prc so I’m between the two cartridges leaning towards the 6.5 since it meets the requirements for PA elk if/when I draw that tag, although I can always borrow my dads 308 if needed.

Thoughts between the two?
If it helps I do reload and I’ve been stacking primers/powder since 2012.

OP
O

Ophidian

Lil-Rokslider
6.5 is what I’m leaning towards but in the event I drew an elk tag I do have a 308 and a .270 come to think of it, that I can borrow from my father without having to buy another rifle. I am a fan of low recoil and accurate above all else. Only reason I didn’t put a .223 on the list of potential calibers is because of caliber restrictions in other states.

Matt5266

WKR
Being you handload and hunt whitetail mostly from 500 and closer. I'd say 6 creed. It will do great on the antelope and mule deer as well if that comes up. Like you said if you draw a elk tag you have access to other calibers. I would get what would benefit you MOST of the time your hunting. Of course you couldn't go wrong with a 6.5 creed either.

rsipes3

FNG
You err.....you might want to have a rethink about that there chief........

and whys that? i know its doable. but if i had to pick between a 140 gr 6.5 bullet vs a 110 gr 6cm bullet for elk im gonna be picking the 6.5. thats like sayin im gonna choose to shoot whitetails with my .223 when i got a .243 sittin there. can you kill them with that? absolutely, is it a good idea? probably not. not when theres other options anyway. i think your just limiting your abilities otherwise.

mt100gr.

WKR