Short “ish” 33 magnums

Alright so kicking this idea around… I want to build a 33 cal with a 22” barrel. don’t want to go longer than that as I have a TBAC ultra 338 and that’s 10” on its own. I want to use this as a hunting rig.

I already have a Zeus action with magnum bolt face and a Kauger 338LM bolt.

Been thinking between these 3… 33 nosler, 338 rum, or 338 Lapua. I don’t have a reloading set up as of yet, these three I can find ammo online for, either factory or semi custom stuff like from Hendershots.

Anyone have any experience with either of these with that shorter barrel?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gerry35

WKR
I'm no expert 338 guy but I thought of the 33 Nosler when I saw your title. Have you looked at the 338 Wby RPM? That looks like a neat round and Weatherby supports their cartridges.

OP
D
I'm no expert 338 guy but I thought of the 33 Nosler when I saw your title. Have you looked at the 338 Wby RPM? That looks like a neat round and Weatherby supports their cartridges.

I did give it a look, however I have these two actions already… wouldn’t make sense $$$ to jump into another for that cal.

IDShane

WKR
I am building a 338RUM Defiance action, McMillan stock and a 24" Hart barrel so far. I decided to build a 10-12 lb gun hopefully enough weight to take up some recoil. My idea was I want to shoot 265 grain bullets hopefully 2750-3000 fps. I looked at building a 33 Nosler and a 338 Lapua and an edge when it came down to it I wanted a longe range hunting rig and the RUM fit my needs the best.

DaleW

WKR
For a shorter rifle I like the idea of a 33N. 338 lm would probably have more factory ammo options but will be very pricey.

However, if you were able to handload in the future I'd go 338 Norma. It has almost identical performance to the lapua but is shorter allowing heavy bullets to be seated out further and still feed from a CIP length magazine.

OP
D