Worst Case Scenario - Bad Shot

tmitty

FNG
I'm relatively new to the hunting scene, been at it for 4 seasons now, archery elk. I drew a LE Bull tag this year. Up until this season I hadn't drawn my bow on an animal. This season, I have been blessed with many exciting encounters, lots of early rutting action, and overall a great experience. Until yesterday.

My brother and I hiked deep into a hole that not many other hunters get to. Long story short, we were able to bugle in a herd bull to broadside at 20 yards. I had a perfect opportunity and screwed it up. I hit him high and back. I've put what I thought was significant practice with my bow on a target, but its a different story when a screaming bull is coming at you. I thought I was aiming at his vitals, but as I'm looking at anatomy diagrams today and replaying the image in my mind, I misjudged where to put my pin. I should have put more study into elk anatomy. I should have taken an extra second before I released that arrow.

We tracked him for 6 hours, a couple hours into the dark. The blood was never very good. It wasn't lung blood, and no visible guts. We tracked him about 500 yards, decreasing blood the whole way until we were down to pea-sized drops every 30 yards, until eventually nothing. He went down the hill, over a creek and back up another ridge. My brother is confident he will survive the shot. I sure hope so, but I feel awful. This is not the way I envisioned my first shot on an elk to go.

I have next week scheduled off work to try and seal the deal, but I have to admit this has taken the wind out of my sails a bit. If I can't make a clean shot on an elk broadside at 20 yards, what business do I have hunting elk?

Not sure what my point is in posting this, just felt like I needed to get it off my chest. I'm sure I'll feel better about everything in a few days, but this sucks.

KHNC

WKR