1996 XR400R for hunting

Moserkr

WKR
My hunting buddy has a yamaha enduro bike and wanted a riding partner/buddy to go hunt with on bikes. When his neighbor was getting rid of the honda 400xr, he hit me up and asked it I want it. I said hell yea and picked it up.

02554486-5FEF-4694-946A-B03E2C356B79.jpeg

I dont know a whole lot about bikes, so Im looking for advice either specific or in general, including a good dirt bike forum maybe. Im not looking to ride fast and jump, I want to putt around, hunt, and pack out heavy. It is plated and was street legal too. I have some mechanical experience, my wife’s family rides, and their family friend has an atv/bike repair shop. First stop was to the shop and he gave me a list of stuff to do to it. His price with labor is beyond me, so most will be done myself which is fine. Heres the list it needs:

Carb work - shop?
All shocks rebuilt (leak) - shop?
New chain/roller - me
New sprockets - lower gear for hunting - me
Change all fluids - me

It already has some nice aftermarket parts - exhaust, handlebars, brush guards, camo wrap, probably more I dont understand. Id like to put a small rack on the back too or something to help haul whatever. Friend saw his neighbor ride it 4 months ago.
What say you all? Im pretty stoked and have ridden bikes a few times, never owned one like this. Appreciate any and all feedback!!

Rob5589

WKR
Nice thumper. Carbs are relatively easy to work on; the shock needs a shop to rebuild or just install a replacement. Depending on how much you weigh and potential to load it down with gear, dead critter, etc, you can have the forks and shock revalved/sprung to better handle the weight.

I'd break it down, clean and lube, replace whatever is needed, and ride the wheels off. Bikes like that are pretty easy to work on. Enjoy!

TheTone

WKR