“Meaningful” differences 6.5 cm be 308?

Wycowboy

FNG
Hey all :)
I’m new here but have been reading for a while:)

I would love some thoughts and ideally real world data if any of you have it.

I’ve been looking at several ballistic gel video tests on YouTube. And it got me to wondering if there is actually any real world meaningful difference in a performance between 150 grain Ttsx from a 308 compared to a 127 Grain LRX
On medium-size game under 400 yards?

on the gel tests I have seen the Creedmoor has more penetration so to my way of thinking even if the 30 Cal is a slightly bigger wound channel is likely made up for by the Creedmoor‘s length of wound channel.
Thoughts?

I have been hunting with a 308 for many years and very comfortable with what it does but
I was on the cusp of buying a new 308, but looking at the gel test it made me wonder 6.5 might actually be doing a better job having better technology and science behind it

Thanks so much truly appreciate your thoughts!

I’ve been looking at several ballistic gel video tests on YouTube. And it got me to wondering if there is actually any real world meaningful difference in a performance between 150 grain Ttsx from a 308 compared to a 127 Grain LRX

on the gel tests I have seen the Creedmoor has more penetration so to my way of thinking even if the 30 Cal is a slightly bigger wound channel is likely made up for by the Creedmoor‘s length of wound channel.
Thoughts?

I have been hunting with a 308 for many years and very comfortable with what it does but
I was on the cusp of buying a new 308, but looking at the gel test it made me wonder 6.5 might actually be doing a better job having better technology and science behind it

Welcome to Rokslide!

Here is a database of real world cartridge/bullet experiences people have been having. You will find the data to be eye opening. I'd recommend starting with the .223 thread as its the premise of what the other threads are built on.