Motorcycle Recomendations

Looking for recommendations on motorcycles/dirt bikes for hunting. I live and hunt Idaho. Mostly archery elk and deer. On the maps I see great access in most of the units on dirt bike and very little on 4-wheeler. I bought a Honda CRF250L (dual sport) bike for the purpose of getting back in deeper then camping and hiking. I have very little motorcycle experience but I'm willing and excited to learn. I see and hear a lot of guys hunting with bikes around here and know it's done, I'm primarily looking for advice on bike choice. I like the CRF250L but it's heavy and I really struggled ridding single track with it. I'm not sure if that's because of my inexperience or the bike. My question is, would a dual sport bike like the Honda be a reasonable choice to continue on for my purposes or should I save myself some headache and sell it and now and buy a lighter bike? I prefer not to drop 10K on a higher end bike like a KTM. my buddy has a Kawasaki 250 4 stroker that weighs about 260lbs while my bike is 320lbs, I wonder if that weight difference would make learning and hunting from much easier, or it's really a matter of more practice and doable with my honda.. Thanks in advance for the advice.

TheTone

WKR
I personally think lower weight would help. I looked at the bike you had and liked most things about it except the weight and all the road legal stuff. I think the current crf250f and previous 230 would be better, especially for a new rider. They’re lighter and have a lower seat height. I grew up riding a ton of bikes and those are the Honda’s that would be most interesting to me from a hunting stand point.
You might also look to see what the aftermarket supports with accessories that would be beneficial such as a rear rack. I would never want to carry much on a bike since the weight is up high but having the option to strap some stuff on or even just have a good lift point would be useful

bradyhunt

FNG