Sucessful Washington Elk hunters...

Jason277

WKR
Hello everyone, I have pretty much made most of my posts on this forum about Blacktail in Wa. I have been hunting for a total of 3 years this season coming up will be my fourth. I have had 2 very successful years with blacktail in Wa but I have been striking out pretty badly in the elk department. I hunt archery westside. I'm curious who has had success in Wa for elk , East or West? What season modern, muzzle, archery?

Hello everyone, I have pretty much made most of my posts on this forum about Blacktail in Wa. I have been hunting for a total of 3 years this season coming up will be my fourth. I have had 2 very successful years with blacktail in Wa but I have been striking out pretty badly in the elk department. I hunt archery westside. I'm curious who has had success in Wa for elk , East or West? What season modern, muzzle, archery?

Me and my buddies hunt archery west side, which we’ve been doing the last five years. We’ve been about 75% success the last 4 years. Before we had only hunted east side elk muzzy, we were about 50%, but that was over 10 years ago.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aginor

Lil-Rokslider
I hunted elk in 530 and 506 last year during rifle season. Man, hunting that rainforest is tough stuff. I got a blacktail during the High Buck, but in ten straight days of hunting elk I saw around 40 cows and spikes, but no legal bull. I’ve also never been wetter in my entire life. I’ve even traversed Denali for a week long backpacking trip and wasn’t as wet as this. Where do you live?

Wrench

WKR
I've killed a pile of them. One west side, 20 some east. Rifle and archery. What you need to know is that the hunt sucks for the experience. Expect elk to be chased by everyone, all the time and shooting elk with their tongue dragging is more common than not. Elk are vocal for about 30 seconds after cows are dripping and rarely more than that.