Tripod Advice ?

Unreal_TK

FNG
I’ve been using vortex tripods for several years now. Do you think the outdoorsman system is the one and done system ? I’ve beat tripods to death. They get loose, and break or loose parts. What is your preferred setup ? I hunt from a backpack at times and also glass from the truck. I currently use two different tripods for each job. 85MM spotter and binos both.

Napperm4

WKR
Outdoorsmans are built like a tank but heavy.

Personally I’ve had great success with a slik 634cf. Lighter, warmer and I can stand with it if needed.

Currently I have the Outdoorsmans pan head but looking hard at switching over to the sirui va-5

hammerguy

FNG

Personally I’ve had great success with a slik 634cf. Lighter, warmer and I can stand with it if needed.

I run the Silk Pro 613cf.
Strong carbon fiber but lite as a feather and great height for a 5'7" guy's walking stick.

I run the Sirui A-1205 with the VA-5 panning head. The head adds a bit of weight but man is it nice. The legs are in 5 sections so it compacts down pretty well.

I run the following

Slik 634
Slik 824
Outdoorsmans medium with long center post extension

Each has its intended purpose.

For heads I run
Outdoorsmans pistol grip with panner
Outdoorsmans panhead
Gitzo 1720
Manfrotto 700 rc2

Once again each has its purpose

I run outdoorsmans qr adapters on all my tripods so I can switch heads in seconds.

Not cheap but all are quality gear

Vaultman

WKR
Outdoorsmans medium for me. I don't glass standing, but am a tall guy, so the medium is perfect. It is nice to have just one clasp per leg to deal with, and though it may snag going in and out of a bag, I like the lever locks. They are easier to deal with for me than the twist locks.
The one and done question... for me it will be. I doubt I will ever buy a different hunting tripod.

recurveman

Lil-Rokslider