Bugle sounds

bwlacy

WKR
Reading the bugle report and watching you tube videos. From a long distance how can you tell if a bugle is a hunter or an elk. I'm a newb to elk hunting really. Been out to Colorado before but still don't know much. Maybe some hunters it's really obvious. But what if the caller is really good? What if it was Corey, or Elk nut, can you tell?

No you can't if they are a good caller. I went to a bugle one morning certain it was a man, I even thought I knew what brand caller he was using. It turned out to be a really good 6 pt. bull. I watched a video of the Born and Raised crew, some of the best in the bizz, they were very indecisive about one of the bugles they were moving in on not sure whether it was man or elk. There are some of the callers now that are simply amazing at the realism they can project through a tube. You just have to go see.

Good point weekender. Last year we were on the ranch, sitting by a small park when we heard a bugle-sounded like me when I try (that's why I don't try). Guide chuckled and said "That's Brad trying to bugle". The call got closer and closer. I said "Brad is gonna ruin our spot here". Just then a small raghorn walked out into the clearing we were watching, and started to bugle. He might have had something wrong with his vocal cords, but he sounded horrible. I never would have thought an Elk sounded like that.

ElkElkGoose

Lil-Rokslider
I'm newish but getting into the elk and just last weekend I was sitting halfway up a ridge and heard a midday bugle down in the creek along a trail. I was 100% certain it was a hunter because it sounded like it was out of a toilet paper tube. The next day, I glassed up a bull and he blasted off a bugle at last light. I immediately realized I may have missed my best opportunity previously because it was the exact same sound!

KHNC

WKR